IT Accessibility Workgroup

The fundamental purpose of the UCI IT Accessibility Workgroup is to increase and enhance the accessibility of UCI’s electronic communications and its IT environment. To this end the workgroup is tasked with implementing UC policy IMT-1300 (Information Technology Accessibility) and meeting the requirements set forth within. By supporting IT accessibility, UCI helps ensure that as broad a population as possible is able to access, benefit from, and contribute to its electronic programs and services. IT accessibility is not a one-time UC-wide effort, but instead needs to be incorporated into every IT activity on an ongoing basis.

To facilitate implementation of the policy across campus, the workgroup consists of members representing a broad range of campus units and functional areas. Each member supports the workgroup’s charge in the member’s respective campus unit and/or functional areas and, as appropriate, provides specialized skills and expertise to the workgroup and campus with respect to meeting UC policy and achieving workgroup goals.

Specific pursuits of the workgroup include the following:

  • Accessibility awareness, education, and outreach
  • IT accessibility process monitoring and guidance
  • Technology procurement oversight
  • Risk Identification, mitigation and prioritization of campus needs
  • Compliance Monitoring
  • Vendor selection and management
  • General IT Accessibility program management and administration
  • IT Accessibility Scanning and Testing (Products)

The above list is subject to modification and refinement according to campus needs as determined by the workgroup.

Workgroup Members

The UC systemwide policy recommends each campus form a committee with representation from a broad range of functional areas that are able to address academic, research, and administrative concerns and needs regarding electronic accessibility. The members of UCI’s workgroup are:

Member Department
Kirsten Quanbeck - Executive Sponsor Division of Equal Opportunity and Compliance
Andrew Berk - Co-Chair ADA Coordinator
Todd McGill - Co-Chair Strategic Communications & Public Affairs
Heidi Beezley Thibodeau School of Social Ecology
Gwendolyn Kuhns Black Division of Equal Opportunity and Compliance
Stacy Branham Assistant Professor, Informatics
Ashley Burke Libraries
Meredith Ehrenberg Office of Vice Chancellor for IT & Data
Justine Eisner Division of Finance & Administration
Somphone Eno Disability Services
Iain Grainger UCI Media, OVPTL Communications
Kelsey Layos Classroom Technology Support
Mel Layos Student & Acad Services IT
Matt Martinez School of Biological Sciences
Khym Penfil Campus Counsel
David Pritikin Classroom Technology Support
Greg Ruth Office of Research
Victoria Simons Division of Continuing Education
Jenifer Swann Division of Finance & Administration
Steve Tajiri Student Life & Leadership
Julie Youm UCI Health
Emily Young OVPTL IT